The Seven Sacraments

Sakramentin 7

The seven sacraments are outward signs of the salvation that Jesus Christ has given to his Church; a pledge, or proof, that he is truly there – in and with the Church.

Baptism establishes us as members of the Church of Christ at the beginning of our lives.

In Confirmation, young adults are strengthened and hallowed through the gifts of the Holy Spirit.

The Eucharist (Holy Communion) makes us sharers in the life of Our Lord and forges us together into a community.

When we sin, the sacrament of Penance (Confession) brings us forgiveness and reconciliation with God.

The Anointing of the Sick brings them hope, strength and comfort.

The sacrament of Holy Orders confers upon deacons, priests and bishops a special service in the church.

In the sacrament of Matrimony (marriage) the couple themselves promise each other love and loyalty; the communion that they form becomes an image of our communion in Christ.

The sacraments are visible signs of the invisible reality of salvation. Because it is God who bestows them, they truly achieve the reality they symbolise.

From the publication: “I believe. A Little Catholic catechism. “